Over the past 4 decades, DDS and several women associated with DDS have received various regional, national and global recognitions for its contributions in several spheres like gender justice, biodiversity, media democratization, ecological sustainability, social empowerment etc.

  1. UNDP Awarded the Equator Prize in 2019 for ‘an outstanding example of a local, nature-based solution to climate change and sustainable development’.
  2. Prince Albert II Monaco Foundation in 2020 awarded “in recognition of the work of DDS women to rehabilitate degraded lands and promote biodiversity”.
  3. Nari Shakti Puraskar to All India Millet Sisters Network in 2018 from the President of India at Rashtrapathi Bhavan, New Delhi.
  4. India Biodiversity Award by National Biodiversity Authority in 2019, a national award for ‘Sustainable use of Biological Resources’ and for its efforts in traditional and organic methods of seed processing’.
  5. PV Satheesh, Director of DDS was awarded for his ‘Lifetime Contribution in Reviving Millets into Food Systems’ at the People’s Conference of Millets, New Delhi organized by Revatalizing Rainfed Agriculture Network in 2023
  6. Shining World Protection Award in 2020 by Supreme Master Ching Hai International Association (India)
  7. Ms Anjamma, a farmer, received the Plant Genome Saviour Award from the Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Govt. Of India in the year 2017 for her “remarkable contribution to agriculture by preserving and conserving more than 80 varieties of seeds which are plant genetic resources.”
  8. Shortlisted in Top 10 in the ‘Established Category’ for LUSH Spring Prize 2023
  9. MaisanagariRatnamma, leader of women Sangams in Algole, was the first rural dalit women recipient of the Vriksha Mitra Award from the Ministry of Environment, Government of India in 1993.
  10. World Food Award 1999 given by UK Food group under the category of Sustainable Farming
  11. Manthan Award in Community Broadcasting Category in 2009 for Sangham Radio by Digital Empowerment Foundation.
  12. K.P. Goenka MemorialAward for Environmental Conservation in 1990.
  13. Ms Meedidoddi Vinoda received an Award in 2016 from Sakshi Media Group for Excellence in Farming for the last 15 years.
  14. Ms Lakshmamma from Humnapur Village received an Award as Seed Keeper from the Hon’ble Governor of Telangana State in the year 2020 on the occasion of International Women’s Day.
Share This